Raise your internet hand if you’ve been driving down the highway at a brisk-but-not-quite-speeding pace, everything’s going swell until you come up on some slower traffic. No worries, you pop into the left lane to pass and try to get your groove going again when suddenly you’re snapped out of your good space by a goddamn slowpoke hogging the lane. Do you see red? Because I see red.
Thankfully, the state of Nevada recognized this as a problem and went and did something about it: as of July 1, drivers are now legally required to drive at least the speed limit in the left lane, local news outlet 13 Action News reported.
From the story:
While speeding is definitely still an issue in Las Vegas and on many highways in the state and country, NHP says the No. 1 driving issue that causes the most road rage is when people hog the passing lane.
“It’s law here that if you’re gonna be in that lane, you need to be going at least the speed limit,” said Trooper Jason Buratczuk.
So far, three people in Nevada have been cited with breaking the new law. First offenses cost $50, second $100 and third $250.
To see this new law in action, 13 Action News took a ride with a Nevada Highway Patrol trooper, where they pulled over a driver who was going 59 mph in a 65. I wish I was there to witness it myself.
NHP wants to be clear that this isn’t a law to advocate speeding, but rather to keep the flow of traffic going and eradicate road rage. I’m not complaining.