New Jersey Now Requires Pointless Red Sticker For Probationary Drivers

New Jersey, in a fit of impotent pointlessness, has made it mandatory for probationary drivers under 21 years of age to affix a removable red sticker to their car's license plate. Way to go New Jersey, that'll really do nothing.

New Jersey is a state with a graduated license system, where new drivers under the age of 21 are required to have a probationary license for a 12 month period which grants restricted privileges. Some things probationary drivers are limited to is a curfew between the hours of 11 PM and 5AM (take that late shift workers) and carrying too many passengers. Drivers caught breaking these laws are subject to fines or points against their probationary license. Proponents argue these restrictions act to limit high-risk activities during high-risk times of day young drivers are so drawn by, and thus reduces fatalities.

Now the state has layered on another requirement, putting a sticker on cars driven by under-21's with probationary licenses so cops can identify them easier. The red removable reflective sticker is to be affixed to the license plate at the upper left corner and can be taken off and affixed to other plates as needed. Dubbed Kyleigh's Law after Kyleigh D'Alessio, a New Jersey 16-year-old who was killed by a driver on a probationary license. The frustrating part about the new rule is it doesn't make any of the other restrictions any more restrictive or change the laws in place, in no way does this make anyone safer, in all likelihood it wouldn't have helped Kyleigh either. The drivers who would've broken the law before are still going to break the law by taking off the sticker.

All this does is make new drivers pay $4 to put stickers on their plates through the 12 month probation mark. Oh, there's also another $100 fine if they catch drivers without the sticker and it gives police probable cause to search the vehicle. That'll save lives. Of course Raymond Martinez, the director of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, is saying this new law is "one of the most significant steps forward in teen driver safety." Yeah, right. How about a driving test designed to fail incompetent drivers or training courses where students have to stay awake during in order to pass. Just a thought. [NJ, Consumer Reports]