2014 Baja 500 Route Features Beaches, Lake Beds, Mountainous Terrain

Image for article titled 2014 Baja 500 Route Features Beaches, Lake Beds, Mountainous Terrain

The Official 2014 Baja 500 route has been announced; it'll be a 446.9 mile loop starting and ending in Ensenada with a long run down the Mexican west coast, sprints back and fourth across the Diablo Dry Lake, and a charge back north through the hills in the middle of the peninsula.

Image for article titled 2014 Baja 500 Route Features Beaches, Lake Beds, Mountainous Terrain

Here's the official map download link if you want to see it as big as possible.

Looks like SCORE has set up a good variety of terrain for this year's race, which should lend itself to some good action and miserable hell for support vehicles.

Qualifying positions for the race have been locked in as well. SCORE sets starting positions for the Baja 500 by qualifying time, but the start-positing for the qualifying run is done by random draw.

Clyde Stacey will be the first Trophy Truck to qualify in his Chevy Silverado, with Shelby Reid heading up Class 1 on June 5th in Ensenada.

It's obviously in the best interest of competitive racers to throw down a qualifying run, but it's not required. Non-qualifying entrants will run in the order selected at random started behind the last qualified vehicle in class.

The qualifying runs are closed to the public because keeping spectators safe is too big a job for organizers, but we'll share highlights as they come out!


Here's the full list of racers registered as of May 14, 2014 in official qualifying order by class:

Pro Cars & Trucks


(Qualifying Order)

5 Clyde Stacy

57 Mike Palmer

98 Gary Weyhrich

3 Mark Post

35 Jason Voss

77 Robby Gordon

50 Zak Langley

85 Justin Davis

53 Jose de Jesus Flores

30 Robbie Pierce

15 Armin Schwarz

33 Todd Romano

45 Gary Magness

91 Troy Herbst

76 Jesse Jones

11 Rob MacCachren

16 Cameron Steele

7 Steven Eugenio

1 B.J. Baldwin

9 Mark Weyhrich

26 Jay Reichert

21 Gus Vildosola Jr

34 Ken Losch

19 Tim Herbst

23 Dan McMillin

72 Robert Acer

39 Ron Whitton

70 Bryce Menzies

18 Juan C. Lopez

83 Luke McMillin

14 Heidi Steele

37 Thomas Greer-1st RS

CLASS 1 (15)

(Qualifying Order)

168 Shelby Reid

100 Cody Parkhouse

101 Justin Matney

156 Richard Boyle

128 Chuck Sacks

153 Ronny Wilson

163 Paul Keller

111 John Langley

169 Nick Mills

187 Ryan Sharman

188 Jon Walker

144 Andrew Myers

138 Brian Wilson

114 Lyle Bask-2nd RS

121 Damen Jefferies-1st RS

CLASS 1/2-1600 (7)

1685 Edson Cruz

1615 Jesus Velez

1636 Christian Celaya

1605 Miguel Cortez

1606 Ruben Sanudo

1691 David Jones

1630 Kevin Smith-1st RS

CLASS 5 (2)

511 Wendy Belk

509 Jose Lopez

CLASS 7 (2)

717 Pat Sims

724 Matt Lovell


747 Justin Park

759 Oscar Solaiza-2nd RS

750 Javier Avila-1st RS

CLASS 8 (2)

807 Noah Ostanik

808 Rick Sanchez

CLASS 10 (25)

1066 Mike Shaffer

1031 Mike Johnson

1068 Cody Reid

1045 Patrick Dailey

1033 Miaguel Tornel

1006 Mike Lawrence

1081 Todd Winslow

1029 Thomas Bjorstrom

1062 J.J. Schnarr

1023 Lee Banning

1016 Cody Robinson

1009 Rafael Navarro IV

1015 Jeremiah Watson

1041 Todd Stemmerman

1089 Arnoldo Gutierrez Jr

1000 Brad Wilson

1074 Derek Ahern

1011 Morgan Langley

1098 Shane Scully

1032 Tim Pangborn

1088 Luis Salgado

1002 Mark Lawrence

1048 Carey Chrisman

1099 Adam Pfankuch-2nd RS

1097 Rick St. John-1st RS


1249 Hector Garcia

1216 Luis Martinez

CLASS 11 (2)

1113 Mario Vazquez

1162 Greg Piraino


1350 Chelsea Magness


842 Taylor Mills

846 Jose Gomez

872 Jonathan Brenthel

858 David Kleiman

844 Eduardo Laguna

871 Larry Connor

854 Brian Shaleen

CLASS 19 (11)

1904 Cory Sappington

1949 Alonso Lopez

1944 Scott Estes

1917 Derek Murray

1937 Marc Behnke

1920 John Angal

1905 Marc Burnett

1907 Eric Pucelik

1930 Sean Cook

1942 Scott McFarland

1932 Matt Parks-1st RS

Pro Motorcycles

OPEN M/C (4)

4x Ricky Brabec

1x Colton Udall

77x Ray Dal Soglio

19x Rodrigo Valenzuela


134x Dane Ward

CLASS 30 (3)

310x Mark Winkelman

306x Fred Sobke

349x Francisco Arredondo

CLASS 40 (3)

449x Ezure Tadao

410x Giovanni Spinali

403x Oscar Fazz

CLASS 50 (1)

510x Earl Roberts


706x Kevin Daniels

728x Daniel Stinson

Pro ATVs

Pro ATV (1)

1a Adolfo Arellano



1515 Derek Fletcher-1st RS


1444 Jim Bunn-1st RS


2002 Walter Prince

SPT M/C (8)

283x Nicola Dutto

290x Stuart Gordon

272x Hisazumi Fukumura

247x Raul Hernandez

271x Akihiro Saito

270x Eizaburo Karasawa

275x Masayuki Kudo

297x Carlos Sanchez-1st RS


121a Zachary Hayward

123a Waldemar Ortiz

140a Don Higbee

112a Oscar Ruiz

109a Juan Dominguez

107a Richard Epperson

Image: Slashvee/Flickr


Ash78, voting early and often

Boy, the Service Corps of Retired Executives has taken a decidedly more hardcore turn since the last time I attended one of their functions.