The Cult of Cars, Racing and Everything That Moves You.
We may earn a commission from links on this page

Toyota Drivers Claim Championship In The World Endurance Championship

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

Sebastien Buemi and Anthony Davison, drivers of the number 8 Toyota TS040, were crowned LMP1 drivers' champions in the 6 Hours of Bahrain, the penultimate race of the World Endurance Championship. Congratulations, Team We're Not Audi!

The #8 car only finished in 11th place, but that was enough to give Buemi and Davison the championship.


Toyota's other LMP1, the #7 car, was driven to victory, granting driver Mike Conway his first LMP1 win. Alexander Wurz and Stephane Sarrazin rounded out the competent trio of drivers.

If you're tired of Audi domination year after year (or you just want some kind of rival), this season gives some hope for 2015. Porsche's two LMP1 cars rounded out the podium in second and third place, with Audi's cars finishing in fourth and fifth. Let's not forget how down-to-the-wire Le Mans was this year, either. Next year is going to be fun.


LMP1 wasn't the only championship that was decided in Bahrain. In GTE Pro, Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander claimed the drivers' championship in the #51 AF Corse Ferrari 458. AF Corse also claimed the teams' championship at this race.

While Aston Martin Racing couldn't eke out a win over AF Corse in GTE Pro, Aston Martin drivers Kristian Poulsen and David Heinemeier-Hansson claimed a drivers championship in GTE Am.

The final round of the World Endurance Championship takes place on November 30 at Interlagos in Brazil. LMP2's titles are still up for grabs, so expect insanity there.

Photo credit: Getty Images