Image: Mitsubishi

Tommi Antero Mäkinen capped off four World Rally Championship drivers titles in a row twenty years ago in 1999. He won eighteen rallies in four years to win four titles from 1996 to 1999, a then-impossible feat. Juha Kankkunen had four titles, but took eight years to complete the task, and three different manufacturers. Tommi rode a Mitsubishi wave to win four in a row.

Since then, Sébastien Loeb won nine titles in a row, and immediately after his retirement, Sébastien Ogier took over the mantle, and is the reigning champion for the last six seasons.


Jalopnik contributor with a love for everything sketchy and eclectic.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter