For the past twelve years, a Frenchman named Sébastien has been World Rally Drivers’ Champion in the World Rally Championship. Today, it was Volkswagen’s Sébastien Ogier who won Rally Australia to get his third drivers’ championship.

Ogier ended Rally Australia with seven wins for the season and a commanding 235 points in the drivers’ championship over second place runner and Volkswagen teammate Jari-Matti Latvala with 134 points.

It was a Volkswagen factory team 1-2 at the rally, with Ogier edging out his teammate by 12.3 seconds.

Ogier and codriver Julien Ingrassia have now won the world championship for drivers and codrivers respectively for three years in a row.

Volkswagen Motorsport, of course, had 343 points at the end of the rally in the constructors’ championship. It’s a no-brainer that they’ll run away with that title this year. Volkswagen Motorsport’s duo of Latvala and Ogier have won an insane 31 of 36 rallies since rejoining the WRC.


All three WRC championships have been decided with three rallies still to go. WRC: somehow more predictable than Formula One this year, but way more fun to watch.

Photo credit: Getty Images

Contact the author at