Chip Ganassi Racing was able to advance four of its five cars into the pole-deciding Fast Six session. The two ECR entries would join the Honda-powered four. Jimmie Johnson was the only Ganassi driver not to make the cut. The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion has at the start of his run. Johnson nearly hit the wall as his car’s rear slid on the Turn 1 exit of the four-lap run’s first lap. Miraculously, he saved the car as his right-rear tire came within inches of striking that wall and went on to complete the four laps.


The evergreen excellence of Scott Dixon was on full display on Sunday as he qualified for his 20th Indianapolis 500. Dixon was simply a cut above everyone else. His Top Twelve average speed of 233.510 was fast enough to win pole. In the Fast Six round, Dixon made history. He won pole with an average speed of 234.046 mph over his four-lap run, a new pole record and the second-fastest qualifying run of all time.


This result is the fifth Indy 500 pole of Scott Dixon’s career, putting him second all-time behind Rick Mears’ six pole positions.

Qualifying Results - Top 12

  1. Scott Dixon (234.046 mph)
  2. Álex Palou (233.499 mph)
  3. Rinus VeeKay (233.385 mph)
  4. Ed Carpenter (233.080 mph)
  5. Marcus Ericsson (232.764 mph)
  6. Tony Kanaan (232.372 mph)
  7. Pato O’Ward (232.705 mph)
  8. Felix Rosenqvist (232.182 mph)
  9. Romain Grosjean (231.999 mph)
  10. Takuma Sato (231.670 mph)
  11. Will Power (231.534 mph)
  12. Jimmie Johnson (231.264 mph)