The Cult of Cars, Racing and Everything That Moves You.
We may earn a commission from links on this page

Meet The Finalists For IMSA's Diverse Driver Development Scholarship

Four women and six men have been selected to compete for help to compete in IMSA.

We may earn a commission from links on this page.
Image for article titled Meet The Finalists For IMSA's Diverse Driver Development Scholarship
Photo: Maja Hitij (Getty Images)

This year, IMSA is offering its first-ever Drive for Diversity scholarship, and the series has just announced its first 10 finalists after sorting through 35 different applicants.

Basically, IMSA has leveraged its partnerships with companies like Michelin, VP Racing Fuels, LAT Photo, and OMP to help provide around $250,000 worth of support to the driver ultimately selected from among these 10 finalists.


The scholarship application was a pretty in-depth one. Drivers needed to want to compete in IMSA (obviously) and also have some great on-track results in other junior racing categories (also pretty obvious). A little more challenging was the development of a business plan that would enable these drivers to compete on a full-time basis in 2022, since that $250,000 will only go so far.

IMSA has since released the 10 finalists, who are:

  • SabrĂ© Cook (27; Grand Junction, Colorado): 2021 W Series competitor, first woman to finish on the podium in Porsche Sprint Cup Challenge North America
  • Courtney Crone (20; Corona, California): 2021 recipient of the Gorsline Scholarship for Young Racers, competitor in IMSA Prototype Challenge and Chili Bowl Nationals
  • Christina Lam (33; Vienna, Virginia): Current driver coach with Hi-Speed Motorsports and Skip Barber Racing School
  • Sarah Montgomery (27; Lafayette, Louisiana): Current competitor in World Racing League, also first woman to score a podium in Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup
  • Sebastian Carazo (23; Guaynabo, Puerto Rico): Current competitor in Porsche Carrera Cup North America, winner of the 2019 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA
  • Jaden Conwright (22; Newark, California): Recently debuted in IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
  • David Dalton (23; Charlotte, North Carolina): Former competitor in F4 United States Championship, Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series
  • Mateo Llarena (17; Hallandale, Florida): Lamborghini GT3 Junior driver, youngest pole-winner in WeatherTech SportsCar Championship history
  • Kyle Loh (22; San Jose, California): Current leader of Formula Pro USA Western Championships, third-place finisher in 2019 Formula For USA F4 West Coast, driving instructor at Allan Berg Racing Schools
  • Nikko Reger (23; Austin, Texas): Winner of the 2018 Idemitsu Mazda MX-5 Cup, competitor in IMSA Prototype Challenge and SRO

The ultimate winner of the Diverse Driver Development Scholarship will be announced during the week of the Motul Petit Le Mans event at Road Atlanta.