Helio Castroneves Wins 2009 Indy 500, Third Victory At Indy

Illustration for article titled Helio Castroneves Wins 2009 Indy 500, Third Victory At Indy

Helio Castroneves has won the 2009 Indianapolis 500, marking his third career win here at the Brickyard. It also makes for a record breaking 15th team with for Penske Racing. Official race results below.


It was 185 laps in when Helio put the peddle to the metal and pulled away from Dan Wheldon and Danica Patrick, who dueled for second but didn't have a chance in the end. Castroneves eagerly climbed the fence in celebration and was overcome by emotion when he returned to the pits. The 34-year-old hoisted the ceremonial bottle of milk in victory only weeks after being acquitted of charges of tax evasion — the winners circle is a way better place to be than behind bars.

Coming in at third place, Danica Patrick scored the highest finish for any woman at the Indy 500, while Sarah Fisher and Milka Duno finished 17th and 20th respectively.

  1. Helio Castroneves
  2. Dan Wheldon
  3. Danica Patrick
  4. Townsend Bell
  5. Will Power
  6. Scott Dixon
  7. Dario Franchitti
  8. Ed Carpenter
  9. Paul Tracy
  10. Hideki Mutoh
  11. Alex Tagliani
  12. Tomas Scheckter
  13. Alex Lloyd
  14. Scott Sharp
  15. Ryan Briscoe
  16. AJ Foyt IV
  17. Sarah Fisher
  18. Mike Conway
  19. John Andretti
  20. Milka Duno
  21. Vitor Meira - Contact
  22. Raphael Matos - Contact
  23. Justin Wilson - 160 laps
  24. EJ Viso - 139 laps
  25. Nelson Phillipe - 130 laps
  26. Oriol Servia - 98 laps
  27. Tony Kannan - Contact
  28. Robert Doombos - Contact
  29. Davey Hamilton - Contact
  30. Marco Andretti - Contact
  31. Graham Rahal - Contact
  32. Ryan Hunter-Reay - Contact
  33. Mario Moraes - Contact


I prefer a soaking wet Ashley Judd to Kati Castroneves praying. Maybe that's just me.