Lotus is the new Lotus

Illustration for article titled Lotus is the new Lotus

The incredibly confusing mess of the two Team Loti in Formula One has, as expected, apparently been resolved at an FIA meeting. From next year on, the gold-and-black Lotus cars will be called Lotuses, while the yellow-and-green Lotus cars will be called Caterhams.

This will perhaps make discussing Formula One races a tad simpler, and gone will be the days of referring to Bruno Senna’s car as the-black-Lotus-which-used-to-be-Renault-and-then-Renault-kinda-sorta-got-out-of-F1-and-this-dude-from-Luxemburg-got-involved-and-some-Malaysian-dudes-too-but-not-the-Malaysian-dude-who-runs-Air-Asia-because-that’s-the-yellow-and-green-Lotus-anyway-it’s-the-Lotus-that-makes-the-ugly-noise-in-the-corners-because-of-the-forward-facing-exhausts-oh-wait-that-won’t-happen-next-year-because-of-the-new-rules-on-exhausts-oh-fuck-it-just-watch-the-guy-in-the-yellow-helmet-who’s-not-Lewis-Hamilton, replaced with Lotus.


Simple? Simple. Oh, wait, it’s not: Joe Saward has the full story, as always.

Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images

Share This Story

Get our `newsletter`


Matt Brown

Loti, Lotuses, Team Lotus, and the new competitor for 2012, Team Losi