Texting While Driving Law Goes In Effect Today In Washington State, Teenagers Not LOL

OMG! Whatever you have to tell your BFF Payal better wait as the police in Washington State are now empowered to ticket your ass. A law designed to curb composing text messages went into effect on Tuesday. Penalties range from $124 for a driver texting or emailing to $175 if that texting leads to an accident. IMHO, it's not a bad law as you should probably be looking at the road and not your crackberry.

As discussed in our Guide To Cell Phone Usage Laws, these kinds of laws are often secondary, meaning that you can only get pulled over if you committed a primary offense such as speeding or running a stop sign. The good news is the offense will not appear on your driving record and thus impact your insurance. [Mobile Messaging]