While we understand that 30 over in many situations can be an unsafe speed, and is generally regarded as such on the mainland, we think it's pretty surprisiing that Hawaii is adding any speed over 80, regardless of the posted limit, to some pretty heavy-duty speed penalities. If you're nailed, expect a $500-$1,000 fine, a 15- to 30-day license suspension, a mandatory driver education course and either 36 hours of community service or two to five days in jail. And that's just for a first offense. Apparently, in the post-McGarrett era, speeding is now as big a menace to the 50th state as Wo Fat once was.
Hawaii's New Speed Laws [Drivewire]
You Gotta Keep That Diesel Truckin'...At 70 in Texas [Internal]